The Theory Of Everything – Stephen Hawking’s Lifestory

I have a question to ask.

Have you ever seen a movie that broke you?

And I mean literally broke you. Not just your heart, but everything else with it. And not just for a couple of hours, but weeks after you’ve watched it, you still can’t get it out of your head. This goddamn movie broke my mind, my ability to move on with my life, my ability to formulate words, my ability to feel anything other than my own heart literally breaking itself into pieces. And I absolutely loved it.

images-2

This movie is phenomenal. It’s so beautifully heartbreaking. This movie is not only so aesthetically pleasing, and not only are the characters so freakishly British and adorable, and not only is it set in the beautiful 60’s in beautiful  Cambridge with beautiful prestigious young ladies and gentlemen  with the most articulate accents and the most gorgeous fashion sense, but it is also the real life story of the world’s most intelligent living human, Mr Stephen Hawking.

I knew Stephen Hawking, I had heard of him times and times again, but never have I had the opportunity to know his life story, until I was introduced to this masterpiece of a movie. And I’m so grateful, I’m so grateful for the existence of this movie because, without it, I would have never had my eyes opened to so many, so many things.

In short, the story is about a young British Cambridge student named Stephen, embarking upon a PhD in physics. He is a cosmologist, more specifically, and his main obsession is to find a single unifying equation that explains everything in the universe. One evening, he goes to a party with his friend Brian, and meets Jane Wilde, also a student in Cambridge, only she’s studying Arts. And just like that, from the first conversation, physics and medieval Spanish poetry fall in love. Only then, Stephen’s health starts to go down, and gradually he starts to notice that he is losing control of his body, until one day he just collapses on the floor. The doctors call it the Motor Neuron disease. It’s when the signals that the brain sends to muscles in order for them to move get disrupted, thus the body starts to gradually decay, simple gestures like walking or speaking or picking up a pen become impossible.

When the doctor broke these news to him in the hospital his only reaction was this: What about the brain? He was concerned about his brain, the most valuable thing he has, the thing with which he can prove that time had a beginning, he was worried about it more than his body. But the fact that he has only two years to live left him wondering if he has time to spare for the love of his life, Jane. The answer was, of course, no. There was no time to spare. He shut her out of his life, even though it broke his heart. But she fought her way back in. She married him. She had his children. She took care of him all, fought this horrible illness with him, until he could no longer move without her help.

Jane is a good person. I know that in the end she eventually gets tired, but not because she doesn’t love Stephen anymore. And he knows it. She has done for him more than anyone could ever have, and at one point she has exhausted herself and she has loved him exactly as she promised she would and there’s just nothing she could do for him anymore. And he understands. And they both cry. And I also cry because they’re both good people in a very shitty situation. God, why do good people always end up in shitty situations?

I just love this movie so much and I know I will be watching it over and over until I know every word. It’s just so goddamn good.

Leave a Reply

