Reviewing: The Knife of Never Letting Go

Oh God, where do I even start?

I have not the slightest inkling of how I’m going to write this review. I’m so astonished with the overwhelming perfection of this gorgeous book and I’m scared of messing up and I’m on the verge of crying because I have just finished reading it right now and I don’t know what to do with myself.

Woah, that’s too many ands in one sentence.Yep, Todd has definitely effected me that much.

Today, ladies and gents, I introduce you, with such great honor, to The Knife of Never Letting Go, Book One from The Chaos Walking trilogy by the brilliant Mr Patrick Ness. One of my absolute top favorite books of all times. I have not in such a long time been so grateful and happy after reading a book of my own choice. For those of you who have not heard of this book already, I will give a quick insight of what it’s about, just so that you know what to expect when you decide to pick it up. The Knife of Never Letting Go is a story that follows around mainly a boy of 13 years of age named Todd Hewitt who lives in a town called Prentisstown. In this Prentisstown, there are no women, only men, the population is that of 147, 146 men and one boy to be exact, and everyone can hear everyone thoughts. One day, as Todd and his little dog Manchee (whom Todd can hear its thoughts too and can even talk to) were fetching some apples to bring home, they’ve stumbled across a place of complete silence. It freaked him out so much that his Noise became perplexed with so many questions and absolute fear. The whole town heard it in his Noise (they call men’s thoughts Noise), and thus his adventures began. His parents, or more to the point the two men who have raised him after his mother’s death, sent him away from Prentisstown, saying that he cannot stay there anymore. With none but a rucksack on his back, a little food to last nothing more than a day, a bottle of water, his mother’s old diary, a Knife in his pocket, Manchee by his side, and no explanation, he takes off running away from God knows what’s happening in Prentisstown, only to be greeted with furthermore danger, surprise, secrets and truth soon to be revealed, all waiting for him down the road.

If you have not read the book yet, this is your warning. The following paragraphs will contain MAJOR SPOILERS, so kindly, stop reading.

I freaking love this book so much. My heart cannot even deal. There are just so many awesome things about this book that demand to be talked about carefully and discussed in depth. First things first, I want to talk about the writing style. It’s absolutely brilliant. Some people said they needed some ‘getting used to’ with it, but I certainly did not. I picked it up right off the hook, right off the first few pages. Mr Patrick Ness is just awesome for writing things like ‘reckernize’ and ‘explanayshun’ but come on, it makes perfect sense, doesn’t it? Todd has never been to school and has not once left Prentisstown nor seen people other than Prentisstown men, and therefore he has never heard a foreign accent nor read from a book. Moreover, I think it gives such a strong character and authencity to the book, a more kind of realistic and original feel to it. It was a huge turn on for me, to see an author deliberately making a typo in his book, when in the whole world authors are specifically itchy about this thing and would make a big old dramatic scandal with it. The man has guts, I solute him for it. Secondly, the characters. I loved everyone of them. Todd, of course, is such a beautiful character. Throughout the book, he didn’t come off as the hero who will save the world that you would expect him to be, he was more of the guy who did not know what the hell was going on most of the time. He was trying to find his identity, to fight his demons. He had his flaws and I appreciated them. I loved his sweetness, his innocence, his endless hope, his loyalty, and the way he looked at Viola. The book didn’t give much away about it, but I couldn’t help but feel a bit of romance thing going on there between those two (I can only hope something will happen in the next book lol). I loved Viola and how much she cared about Todd, and how she kept her faith in him and didn’t lose hope. I loved Ben and Cillian too. I was so sad that Cillian died but thank God Ben showed up at the end all alive and shit. It was such a relief. And man, did I cry my eyes out when Manchee died. That good little dog was just so cute and so loyal and such a good friend. It killed me to see him die that horrible, horrible way. Thirdly, the villains. Oh, this book had some super creepy freaky goddamn evil villains, and I loved it. It made the story progress in such a super action-packed pace that made my heart accelerate and my mouth dribble everywhere.

I believe this might just be my favorite sci-fi book/series of all time.

My favorite quotes from the book:

“Oh don’t deceive me, oh never leave me.”

“The pain and the unfairness and the injustice.”

“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.

About anything.

“Need a poo, Todd.”

“Shutup, Manchee.”

“Poo. Poo, Todd.”

“I said shut it.”

“We are the choices we make.”

I give this book: ★★★★★

I recommend this book to literally everyone. If you are putting it off right now, you need to stop doing what you are doing and go read this book. Seriously, READ IT RIGHT NOW BECAUSE WHY WOULDN’T YOU WANT TO READ AN AWESOME BOOK?

2 thoughts on “Reviewing: The Knife of Never Letting Go”

Leave a Reply

