Reviewing: After

Disclaimer: The reviews I am posting these days are reviews I wrote long ago for books I read long ago. Last year and over summer 2014, if I recall. I certainly didn’t just read and write reviews for TFiOS, The Book Thief and After (and more are coming) in three days, so don’t freak out. I’m just kind of moving my reviews from an old blog to this one.

I usually write my reviews within 24 hours after I finish reading the books, that way I can express my initial thoughts and feelings about the book whilst they are still fresh in my mind, hence the use of “5 mins ago”.

I hope this isn’t confusing!


For Heaven’s sake, girl, stop crying! Pull yourself together for once.

5 mins ago, I have finished reading the last updated chapter of After, a One Direction fanfiction on Wattpad, by the brilliant Anna Todd, that had hit millions and millions of votes and reads over this year and that is now being published and made into a series of four book: After, After We Collided, After We Fell and After Ever Happy.

It’s been a hell of an emotional roller coaster for me. I’m just speechless. I was never ever a 1D fan, but thanks to this fanfic I now am. A Harry girl, to be precise.

The story is about this girl named Tessa Young. A perfectly put-together, intelligent young lady with a great life and a sweet boyfriend. That is only until she goes to college and meets badass tattoo boy Harry Styles, who, with his charming green eyes and deep British accent, turns her life completely upside down.

That is a brief and general insight into how the After series begins.

Now let’s get into the spoiler section:

I absolutely love After.

It’s a story about love. True fucking deep and honest love. I’m just as much happy for Tessa and Harry as I am jealous of what they have. It’s so rare. Tessa’s naivety and innocence did get to me just as much as her loyalty and bravery did. I mean, after everything that Harry made her go through, she never gave up on him. Throughout the series, there’s not a single chapter where she does not get hurt because of him, but still, she loved him as much as he loved her. Harry, this British bastard with family issues, memories of child abuse and a strong tendency to self loath, she welcomed him into her life, and cured him. She glued his pieces back together and showed him the way to hope.

It’s fucked up. Really fucked up what they’ve been through, but in the end they knew they were inevitable. Unbreakable. Their relationship is one that dealt with real fucking problems, much like the reality that we live in, and that is one of the reasons why I love After so much. It feels so real. 

Again, it’s not just Harry and Tessa being together that made me love the story, it’s their surroundings too. Their families, their friends. Everything was important. More to the point: Everything was in place. I loved Liam and Ken and Karen and the way they loved Harry regardless of the fact that they were not even his family. I literally loved every character in this book, including Harry’s gang: Steph and Molly and Zayn and everyone else. They were what made the story feel just right.

The plot twists in this story are everywhere and they’ll have your jaw drop to the ground in the most unexpected times. I can’t count the times I have literally dropped my laptop away and started pacing around my room trying to grasp whatever the hell just happened in the chapter I was reading.

My favorite quotes from After are:

“Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

“I never wish to be parted from you from this day on”.

I just love After so much.

I give this book: ★★★★★

I wouldn’t recommend this to everyone. You have to be mature enough to read it as it contains some explicit sexual content, but if you don’t mind that then definitely give it a read. I guarantee that you will fall in love with it and it’ll break your heart in a million different ways.

Leave a Reply

