Reviewing: The Book Thief

Okay Meriem, this is a very important book, please do not mess up!

This is a review I’m attempting to write for The Book Thief, by its brilliant author Mr Marcus Zusak. I’ll try my best to do it right even though I’m still in the process of trying to fathom a coherent thought about this brilliant book. I’m still overwhelmed with its perfection, with emotions, with words.

‘Unsettling, thought-provoking, life affirming, triumphant and tragic, this is a novel of breathtaking scope, masterfully told. An important piece of work, but also a wonderful page-turner’ -Guardian.

I finished this book last night at 2 in the morning after 9 days of intense reading, and yes, you’ve guessed it right, I cried my eyes out!

I’m sorry Mr John Green, my favorite book is no longer tfios, for I have been so luckily introduced to what I believe is the world’s most important piece of literature, a world of words and thievery.

The story takes place in Nazi Germany, 1939. During the second World War, the cities of the country are constantly under air attack. In the words of Mr Marcus Zusak, ‘Death has never been busier’. This quote brings me to the next point, which is the most unique aspect of this book, it’s narrated by death. The story is about Liesel Meminger, a nine-year old girl who will, by the very beginning of the book, be given to a foster family, the Hubermanns, living in 33 Himmel Street.

The Book Thief, Liesel Meminger, showed me the importance of words, their beauty, and also their cruelty and brutality. She taught me how to find life in words, how to find hope in books and pages. Rudy Steiner, her best friend, taught me the art and beauty of being stupid and idiotic, to steal when necessary, and to give even when I’m in need of what I’m giving. Hans Hubermann warmed my heart and I wanted him to be my own father, I dreamed about the silver of his eyes, and I longed to hear him play the accordion. Hans taught me to be kind enough to hide a Jew in my basement, showed me how important it is to keep a promise and to be loyal, to help people out even if it was for the least reward as half a cigarette. Rosa Hubermann showed me that a little swearing is nothing but a sign of love and affection, and every time she called Liesel a ‘saumensch’, I knew that she only ever loved her so much and cared about her. She also taught me to be a woman of a crisis, that if I was brave enough to hide a Jew in my basement, I should as well not let him die down there. Max, the Jew, showed me how to hold on to life. God, he’s a strong man, regardless of the hell he’s been through, he has always kept his faith and his hope, and never did he let go of his friendship with Liesel. He also liked a good fist-fight and knew the beauty of words like Liesel did. I couldn’t help but fall a little in love with him. I also liked Ilsa Hermann, the mayor’s wife, a lot. She was kind and she would let Liesel into a library full of books and colors. She had a broken heart and a dead son, she was sweet and silent, and when she did speak, it was beautiful and heartwarming.

I’m more than thankful for the existence of such a book in my shelf, and to the fact that it is the only physical, hand-felt, not so electronic book that I own, it makes it even more special and dear to my heart.

I give this book: ★★★★★

I recommend this book to everyone. It’s a long read indeed, but it’s definitely worth it. It’s so bittersweet and you will carry it with you for the rest of your life.

13 thoughts on “Reviewing: The Book Thief”

      1. Oh you would hate this but I haven’t finish it yet. I am in the middle since last year. I can’t bring myself to end it because it is so frickin’ good and every time i read it I end up crying. I love this book. Loved the movie as well. Did you like the movie?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Omg I loved the movie. My expectation were high up in the sky and I was hoping so damn hard that the movie would do the book justice, and luckily enough, it was exactly as perfect as I wanted it to be. I cried for two days straight, not even joking. xD

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The movie was perfect!! The best part is how similar it was to the book. Most of the book movies are just world apart from the books and I am glad that wasn’t the case with The Book Thief.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I read this book so long ago… Too long, I might say. My mother told me to read it when I was twelve, if I recall, and I remember loving the fact that it was narrated by Death. I should read it again – maybe I was too young to fully understand the meaning of The Book Thief back then, and your review showed up at the right time. I think it does it justice and you used the right words when describing what the characters taught you. If I hadn’t read the book already, this review would certainly compel me to do so 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This book is absolutely gorgeous and I very much urge you to read it again. Oh, and there is also a movie adaptation for the book if you are interested. I would suggest you read the book then watch the movie, but be careful cuz tHE FEELS ARE INTENSE. xD
      Oh and thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so happy you liked my little review. Hope to see ya around soon. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent review! I read this book when I was in year 9 (I think) and it broke my little heart! I had this English teacher who was amazing and could see I enjoyed reading so she would tell me books that I should read and she recommended this book for me and I will be forever grateful to her.

    I can’t wait to read more of your reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg thank you so much. It really means a lot. My blog is open for you whenever ya fancy. xx
      And yeah, the book is beyond perfect. It’s my absolute favorite. It was given to me by my brother, so it holds a very dear place in my heart. By the way, did you watch the movie?

      Like

  3. The Book Thief is my favourite book! However, I still can’t seem to put into words what I liked about it. That ‘do not mess it up’ feeling was what made me put off writing a review for six months!
    Your review was amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

